TMNT Signed Issues

So, earlier this year I posted some photos bragging about the gems of my comic collection. They are first printings of issues two, three and four of the original Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles series. They are framed and hanging on the wall of my office and look pretty nice I must say! Well, I’ve been meaning to get to this for some time now, but these books have actually become MORE awesome! I know it is hard to believe, but it is true! Back in the spring, on Free Comic Book Day, both Kevin Eastman and Peter Laird, as well as several others who were involved in the original comics were all in the area. Eastman was hanging out down at Jetpack Comics in Rochester, New Hampshire and Laird was in Wells, Maine at Shellback Artworks, a little place run by Steve Lavigne, who did art, coloring and almost all the lettering for the original series.

I took the whole family down to Rochester to participate in the FCBD festivities and brought along my books in hopes of getting them signed by Eastman. Unfortunately lots of people had this same desire and the line was ridiculously long. With a baby and three kids in tow it was not going to work out to wait in line for a couple hours so I decided to skip the signing. Well, my good buddy and comic book guru, Michael Edgecomb, was waiting in line ahead of me, and, out of the kindness of his heart, said he would take my books along to get them signed. What a good dude! A good dude, indeed, because he didn’t just get my books signed by Eastman, he took them along with him to Shellback as well and got them signed by Laird and Lavigne. Seriously, huge thanks to him for hooking me up!

So, without further ado, here are my three little beauties all lined up nicely along the wall of my office:

P1060896

P1060897

P1060898

Aren’t they pretty?

If you need ANYTHING in comics, Michael is the guy to talk to, he has found me several things that I was unable to locate on my own. You can hook up with him on Facebook or on his blog, Mr. Maczaps Comics. Seriously, he is a good guy, gives me great deals, and is always, as in the case above, willing to go above and beyond to help me out!

About Dan Allen

Just some guy trying to figure stuff out... View all posts by Dan Allen

2 responses to “TMNT Signed Issues

Leave a Reply

